"Game of Thrones" A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms (TV Episode 2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
535 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Really the last good GoT episode
biohazard-q18 May 2019
Definitely the last good episode on the show. It's almost heartbreaking really.
62 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Come on people!
chloelee-2437022 May 2019
A knight of the seven kingdoms is not as half bad as other episode!! Don't drag it down with the others. Give some respect to the producers and writers of this episode please
44 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Goodbye, friends
strider-5445322 April 2019
Just an incredible penultimate episode. Every character had a moment. So much rich & incredible interaction. This is goodbye to a lot of characters tonight. It's devastating. Next weekend will be like a funeral. Im terrified. And not ready. Be careful what you wish for when you want non stop action. Ep 3 will be just that and everything you've loved about this show will turn to ash in your mouth. You'll want to come back to this episode after it all just to see their faces.
819 out of 1,036 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great episode showing each character in what is potentially their last moments
RetryLogic22 April 2019
To everyone saying that this episode is a boring filler episode, you need to understand that it is a lot of characters' final moments on the show. If you wanted the show to rush to the action and forget about any touching character moments then you're watching the wrong show. Every character had a different way of coping with the inevitable which made the episode brilliant and doesn't give away any clues on what characters will survive the battle. When game of thrones is over, this will be the saddest episode to look back on as we'll realise that it's the last time we'll see certain characters' traits and interactions with each other. 10/10

Edit: Easily the best episode of the season.
363 out of 484 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Michael Bay fans please leave!
alan-currie22 April 2019
I'm sorry but clearly some people on here have never properly watched the show or have just recently binged it all and just skipped past the "boring" talking bits?! Seriously GOTs has always been character driven, that's why when the big moments happen you feel so emotionally involved! Next weeks Episode 3 is a 1hour 22 minute battle sequence that has been set up perfectly by the first 2 episodes. Those of you leaving 1 star reviews need to get a grip and have a serious reality check! I'm not saying everyone should give this episode a 9 or 10 but anything below a 7 is madness. If you just want mindless action and fighting with no character driven storylines go and watch a Transformers movie!
350 out of 472 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Build-up for the most anticipated battle in tv history
kevindehulsters21 April 2019
Boy did this deliver. I liked the premiere 'Winterfell', but this is on an entirely different level. I laughed, I got chills, I cried. I won't spoil anything, but the writing in this is incredible. Even though I love Game of Thrones (also the later seasons), I never thought I'd say that about a season 8 episode. Sure, the writing last episode was good, but this is seriously season 3 - 4 levels of writing. Beats 'Kissed by Fire' as my favorite build-up episode. I think that when all is said and done and people rewatch the entire show, this will be one of the best episodes. It just flows so well and perfectly prepares us for the biggest battle we're ever going to see. I'm gonna miss Game of Thrones so much, let's enjoy it while it lasts.
465 out of 676 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the Best Episodes
OwensDad122 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Hands down, top 5 episode of the entire series. This is going to be the last time we see any of these character interactions with the Battle of Winterfell set to begin. Brienne being knighted was as emotional a moment as we've seen in this series. To see her finally get the recognition she deserves, from the man she desperately loves, was amazing. Jon's confession to Dany about his parentage was completely unexpected. And her reaction proves to Jon, and the audience, that all that matters to Dany is sitting upon the throne. She wasn't happy for Jon or that Jon now knows who he is and where he comes from. She only cared about herself and keeping 'her' thrown. Brienne standing up for Jamie, Jorah doing the same for Tyrion, Sansa showing what an incredible leader she has become. Trusting in Brienne and also negotiating with Dany and holding her own. To see Davos, Pod, Tormund, Tyrion, Jamie and Brienne in one room, drinking wine (and giants milk!) was something I never thought we'd get to see. Gathering all these diverse characters together was fantastic to see on screen. Also getting the Night Watch reunion and the Hound & Arya (maybe the last time) having a drink together. There was so much to this episode. 10/10
249 out of 358 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the masterpieces of Game of Thrones
tomyk_po23 April 2019
At first, we all expected for an episode like the first one of the season, with all the preparations for the great battle. But they give us an unexpected rush of feelings. As the dead march to Winterfell, we get a unique chance to see every main character with an open heart to express their feelings, their regrets, redemption, fears and hopes. I don't know if we are aware of how hard it's to reach that and transmit it to the audience in such a magnificent way. This goes beyond fights and sex, we got one last time to share with the persons we have been following for nearly ten years, in what it might be their last moments on screen. I'm sure this experience will be geting more credit after the Battle of Winterfell, and the show ending. For me, it's enough to say that we are beholding one of the masterpieces of the greatest show ever aired.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This episode was for true fans!
syed_jazii22 April 2019
Anyone who has been watching this show for a decade knows the value of this episode. We never had an episode like this where almost the whole cast was in a single scene! This episode was really for the true fans of got who have been wishing to see how all these actors can come together and interact with each other. This episode was and emotional roller coaster where u laugh in one scene and cry in the next one! I loved it to the core!
245 out of 353 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Towards War!
ahmetkozan22 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It was a better episode than the first episode. It was a episode that prepared the viewer for battle. It gave us the signal of the next episode. I think we will finally see the battle of ice and fire in the next episode.

It started with Jaime's court scene. Daenerys was more angry with Tyrion more than her hatred of Jaime. She became more angry with him for deceiving herself and showed Tyrion guilty. He was somehow pardoned by Brienne's defense of Jaime.

Bran and Jaime finally met. It was one of the scenes I was expecting.

Then we watched the scene of Daenerys and Sansa. Their speeches as if winning the battle were disturbing. They should have been more serious. I didn't like the reaction Daenerys showed when she found out that Jon was Targaryen.

We've seen battle tactics. We're going to see if the war will begin in the next episode. Events can be estimated right now. I'm waiting for astonishing events in the next episodes. Waiting for the next episode with impatience. We're going to watch a longer episode than 1 hour. 8/10
229 out of 334 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thrones delivers the character piece we've been waiting for in the calm before the storm - and it's beautiful.
danielsteadman9922 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I see complaints from people that this episode was boring, did nothing to further the plot, was just setup, etc. To me this is ridiculous - this episode is crucial if next week's is going to be as good as they're saying it will be. Next week is the spectacle, this week was the heart.

GoT in its first few seasons often had episodes where most (or all) of the screentime would literally just be various characters talking with very little action, and that's what made the show. Because then when the characters die so brutally, it actually hurts, and our characters were real, flawed and complex people, changed by their experiences and relationships. It's what makes every scene of this saga so compelling to watch. And now there will be little or no more of this in Game Of Thrones; we have four eps left, one of which is the Battle Of Winterfell and one of which is the finale. We can assume that we're going to be seeing a hell of a lot of action over the next four weeks, so this episode was the last chance for our characters, who have all travelled to the farthest reaches of Westeros and Essos and all the way back, to do what is the only natural thing for them to do on the last night of their lives: sit and drink and talk. And it was goddam beautiful. It's thanks to this episode's time spent with characters that next week's episode is going to hurt so much, when we see some of them fall at the hands of the Night King and his army.

So many beautiful moments came from this: Davos' heartbreak at seeing the strong little girl with grayscale and remembering his Princess; Theon finally coming home; the reunion of the Night's Watch brothers, all still with one mission in mind; Jorah showing his worth to Dany and receiving his own Valyrian steel sword for his service to Westeros; Pod's unwavering support to his mentors and good heart; Tyrion's self-doubt but honest loyalty (and love for wine); Arya and Gendry finally together on what could be their last night; Missandei and Grey Worm planning their life together; Arya, the Hound and Beric contemplating their fate; and finally pretty much any interaction Jaime had with another character, finally rounding off his redemptive arc in the most poetic of ways (Jaime and Brienne are golden in their scenes together) and paying off 8 years of character development, bad choices and a good heart. Everything here feels earned, natural and necessary. This may be the last episode we spend hearing many of the characters speak their hearts and minds, and to me it feels like the conclusion of many of GoT's greatest characters arcs and plots. It's not even fan service; it just feels right.

I also have to give huge praise to the scene in the crypts with Jon and Dany at the end. Mirroring last week's scene down there brilliantly, with the camera now focussed on Dany as she hears the news (credit to Emilia Clarke there). Interesting that this scene came shortly before the battle and in the same episode that Dany admits she really does love Jon - it'll be interesting to see if this has any repercussions next week. Also this episode is hardly without excitement. The comedy is very well placed and made me laugh unusually hard for GoT (again, just so it hurts more when next week takes some of these guys from us), and the tension in Winterfell as Jaime arrives is tremendous. Furthermore, the way this thing builds and builds until the dead arrive on the rise beyond Winterfell, you can literally feel time ticking away as the characters accept their fate. It's haunting to watch, and I honestly believe that it'll all pay off in the most explosive, epic and painful way next week and in the weeks to come.

This episode is not filler. It's not boring if you care about the characters. It's not simple. It's not even slow even though it never leaves Winterfell and all takes place in one day and night. It's perfect character drama and the calm before the storm. It's a beautiful conclusion to years of journies, ordeals, betrayals, heartbreak, wars, oaths and reunions. And if it weren't for this episode then next week would just be another Thrones battle - but this is the Battle Of Winterfell, and everything and everyone is at stake. This is probably Game Of Thrones' last great character piece and it's a joy to see such talent come together and pay off their years of hard work and incredible storytelling. We'll cry even more tears because of it.
169 out of 263 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A really great episode
playingpsarabic16 May 2019
A really great episode showing lots of emotions between the characters
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best action-less episode of Game of Thrones!
popistaniuliu22 April 2019
This is an intelligent episode. Brilliant writing, directing, acting, cinematography. The main theme is memory. What and when to forgive, and what to remember. "Never forget who you are!" All characters remember who they were, and what they've become, before death arrives. It is also a farewell episode. We will lose them all this season. "We never want them to leave" but they all will. Valar Morgulis! But we will remember ! Fans will remember!
137 out of 230 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Touching
daniel-l-wri21 May 2019
This episode was amazing at setting the tone for the upcoming battle, tying off loose ends, and starting a final storylines.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Last Night
ThomasDrufke22 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It's come to the point of this show where I can watch reunions and first meetings for hours and never get tired of it. I get it, the show has done 2 straight weeks of "set up", but it seems completely fitting to me. Even after all of the long-awaited reunions we got last week, we still needed some time to breathe with these characters for another week in Winterfell.

First thing of note is that this episode was set entirely in Winterfell, no Iron Islands with Yara or King's Landing with Euron/Cersei. And to be honest, do we expect either setting to fit in next week either? If it's supposed to be an episode entirely on the battlefield, than there's no reason to show any other setting. It's safe to say they were not missed tonight.

As expected, the episode began with Jaime in front of all the Lords, Kings, and Queens left in Winterfell as he "atoned" for his past sins. It wasn't all that shocking or surprising, we knew the people who would stand up for him (Tyrion & Brienne), the people who would not (Sansa & Daenerys) and the one in between (Bran), but it was nonetheless thrilling to watch. There were two lines that specifically stood out to me. The first being Brienne saying Jaime is a "Man with honor", which is a touching callback to the episode in season 2 titled "A Man Without Honor" in which she refers to Jaime as such. The second being Bran ending the conversation with "The things we do for love", talk about callbacks. I truly can't get enough of this.

Jaime and Brienne had quite a week together (which really worries me for both of their fates in the coming weeks), with Jaime asking Brienne to serve under her in the battlefield, and then him knighting her later in the episode in what was one of the most touching scenes this show has ever given us. How nice was it to see Brienne smile a bit in that sequence? Of all the titles people receive in this show, making Brienne a knight is at the top of the list.

Another quick but touching scene was seeing Theon return to Winterfell and pledge his sword to Sansa once more. I nearly teared up, not going to lie. I truly believe Alfie Allen is one of the best actors on this show, always showing so much emotion with little dialogue over the years. It didn't take much for his and Sophie Turner's reaction to him arriving to move me significantly in this moment. Of course, this comes directly after the "make-up" scene between Sansa and Dany, which was surely welcomed. But it wouldn't be Game of Thrones without those finally few seconds of Sansa asking about what will happen to the North once it's all over. How many times are people going to bring up "afterwards" without realizing that this show never gives us good happy endings/happy "afterwards"!

I loved seeing everyone surround the table and plan for the battle, and I also loved that it wasn't just Jon providing insight. It's an Avengers style lineup in this scene, and it was nice seeing everyone from Jaime, Sansa, Tormund, and Bran step up here. Which brings up the next point that we got an answer of sorts as to what the Night King wants, which is Bran. Is Bran's purpose only so that people knew of Jon's true lineage? Does he meet his end at the hands of the Night King in the next episode, thus eliminating the "world's memory"? Is that why Jon told Dany in this episode (because he needed to do it while Bran was still alive)? So by wanting an "endless night" does he need to kill absolutely everyone? Or is he satisfied once he kills Bran? I'm sure that's not the case, but still, so many questions left to answer. Some other notes worth mentioning:

-GHOST -the baby is real?? -Tormund is the MVP -Shocked Jon told Dany already -Pod is a singer -Arya got her weapon....in more than one way tonight... -"And now our watch Begins" -Davos & the people -Theon will definitely die next week

10/10
159 out of 298 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the most relatable episodes ever
grpearman22 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I find it amazing and refreshing that a show 10 years into making, with 5 episodes left, spends a full hour of character relationship development. Nobody else does that. Nobody but Game of Thrones. Well done GoT.
164 out of 308 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
True GoT episode
craig-haskins22 April 2019
Those on here bemoaning 'filler' episodes either joined the party too late or aren't fans. Full to the brim with moments that I've waited 10 years for. The action will come and it will be incredible, but episodes like this are what GoTs is all about. I love these characters, I've spent ten years watching them. It's right that we get to say goodbye to them first.
154 out of 294 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Without memories men are not men, we are just animals
harfanmaulaharsh22 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"he wants me, I have his marks on my hand, he knows where I am, I am his memory and he wants to erase it, he wants the longest night possible"

It took us seven seasons and two episodes to know what the night king wants and people say the episode was a waste. What's wrong with the taste of audiences these days?
138 out of 269 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Reconciliations, Realization and Discovery
claudio_carvalho25 April 2019
"A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms" is an important episode, with reconciliations of old enemies; realization of Brienne of Tarth, now a knight of the Seven Kingdoms and Arya Stark, now a woman; and discovery of Jon Snow that now knows who he is. The episode is also a preparation for the next one that may be the best episode of the whole series and certainly the farewell of several characters. Looking forward to become true. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms"
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
AGAIN! DO NOT lsiten to those "USELESS EPISODE" reviews
fifanatik22 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Same as the last episode, explosion nerds go out calling this episode useless and slow, attacking the producers as if they are wasting time and giving them useless filler episodes. If that is what you got from these 2 episodes then you should seriously consider yourself stupid, like actually stupid. Let me clear this out. The next 5 HOURS... yes 5 HOURS of the show that are left are gonna be probably one of the most action packed and full of tension hours in television history. I could have watched episodes like this last one for hours. AMAZING interactions and dialogue. Seeing buddies laughing before their probable imminent death is just heart warming, with a little bit of tension thrown in there for Game of Thrones sake. A list of amazing, possibly last happy moments, scenes: *Theon reuniting with Sansa *Arya and Gendry *Brienne of Tarth fullfilling her childhood dream at the hand of Jaime whose arch is something incredible, possibly one of the best in television history *The whole "hangout" near the fire. * It all seemed so genuine and just warmed my heart seeing that. Lots of humour, tension and a great build-up for the storm that is coming. THIS SHOW HAS ALWAYS BEEN CHARACTER INTERACTION DRIVEN. Just stop acting like this is a bad thing now as if the show is changed.
102 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A near perfect episode, a step up from the last one
skexer22 April 2019
I can see how people may have been a bit annoyed with the previous episode, it's lacking dialogue and overall ''filler'' feel.

If that is true- then this episode was a huge step up. If last episode was all the ''reuniting'' of many characters we were waiting for- then this episode was the reuniting with great dialogue that we were waiting for. Disclosure- those that expected the battle to happen in this episode are probably the ones still disappointed.

It still turned to be out to be one of the most satisfying, intense and emotional episodes in the entire series: We got tense interactions, humorous interactions all complete with great dialogue between the characters we've come to love. All woven together scene after scene perfectly, without fail.

Though, it's bittersweet because it feels like this may have been the last farewell to some of the characters before next episodes events, it has been quite the ride.

It even tied in a great vocal/song overlaying the last few scenes. I was reminded of Pippin's song in Lord Of The Rings. The perfect prelude to a great battle to come.

It wouldn't be wrong to say that it hearkened back to the some of the best interactions/ dialogue we saw in earlier seasons.

To conclude, GoT still delivers in it's last season and the best is likely still to come!
151 out of 302 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Goodbye
aseema-1892816 May 2019
I felt sad in this episode, everyone saying goodbye ahhh And the end scene with the song was soooo beautiful
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Quiet reflections
capt-sweet21 May 2019
Rarely do we get to spend so much time with the characters before a large battle. And in this episode we got to visit with each of them and gain some understanding into who they are. We got some powerfully quiet scenes to remember why we cared for them and to feel the distress of the battle more intensely.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most perfect and intense buildup for the most anticipated battle ever
khaleel_khaleel21 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This episode was a masterpiece and one of the best in the entire series and really shows you how things are coming to an end and that no one is safe.
161 out of 332 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Felt like a teen girls fanfiction
imgvdheijden22 April 2019
I'm inclined to agree with what others have said about this episode: too much cliches. It is by all means a filler/bottle episode, but that wouldn't necessarily have been a bad thing; it can work to build up the emotional stakes before the coming battle. But in this episode, as in the previous one and also even in season 7, everything was so on the nose! I mean, I challenge you to find one of Tyrion's lines in this episode that isn't explaining the subtext of the scene out loud. And all the 'funny' and 'anticipated' meet ups: We get it already! "Those characters do have history", and "it would be awkward for those characters to meet now under these circumstances". But by all means, make it awkward, make it painful, make everyone not get along (instead of just two extra's spitting on the ground). Make people have nothing to say to each other, make them unable to get over the history between them so fast. But no: all sources of conflict are smoothed over in mere seconds this season. What is left is a bunch of people that by no means should get along, even if it wasn't for the fact that they've been enemies for quite some time, just for the fact that they have not much in common. But in this episode, those people seem more like besties having a sleepover, rather than complex character with complex relationships on the verge of battle. Everything is just too sweet, too nice and neat and funny. It feels like a teen girl writing fanfiction, wanting all the bad things to be dealt with as quickly as possible, so everyone can get married and have babies and live happily ever after. While it may be heartwarming at moments, and while it made me laugh at certain points, it's not the quality I expect from GoT.
286 out of 681 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed