Seventh Son (2014) Poster

(I) (2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
176 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Neither a disaster nor a classic, but decent, fun and action-packed in its own right.
shawneofthedead2 January 2015
It isn't easy to make a good fantasy film – as borne out by Seventh Son, which has suffered a particularly arduous journey to the silver screen. Originally slated for release in February 2013, its visual effects house went bankrupt and its studio, Legendary Pictures, parted ways with distributor Warner Bros. The film that's finally stumbling into cinemas almost two full years later (courtesy of Universal Pictures) should be an unmitigated disaster. Surprisingly, it's not. The film isn't exactly great, but it's a largely entertaining romp that's more inspired by than strictly faithful to Joseph Delaney's series of bestselling books.

Tom Ward (Ben Barnes) is the seventh son of a seventh son: a rare genetic lineage that sets him on the path to becoming a Spook a.k.a., a slayer of the myriad evil creatures that haunt the land. He becomes the apprentice of grizzled, alcohol-addled John Gregory (Jeff Bridges), shortly after Mother Malkin (Julianne Moore), an evil witch, escapes her earthly prison to claim the world as her own. With only a week to go before the blood moon rises, Tom trains with Gregory but finds himself distracted by the charms of Alice (Alicia Vikander) – a mysterious young lady with a few secrets of her own.

While hardly groundbreaking in any way, the story unfolds with unexpected punch. Tom's story – one in which he comes of age and comes into his own – is accompanied by plenty of action sequences, courtesy of bone-crunching battles between men and other men (and women) who turn into soaring, swooping, fire-breathing dragons. Tom tumbles over a cliff to avoid a pursuing monster, Gregory battles a gigantic bear, and wraiths of smoke and despair trail after the Spook and his apprentice as they make their way through a dark, brooding forest.

It helps, too, that the film is leavened by a welcome bite of humour. Seventh Son doesn't take itself as deadly seriously as some of its brethren in the fantasy genre do. That's why Gregory plunges into a bar brawl armed with nothing more than his flagon of beer, and Tom is allowed to make quite a few cutting remarks about his purported mentor that are heartily returned with interest.

Ardent fans of Delaney's books should be warned: Seventh Son riffs on elements of the novels rather than staying strictly true to them. For one thing, Tom is considerably older in the film. Most noticeably, Malkin is a very different character than she is on the page. She's given more depth and complexity here, her vile behaviour explained, if not strictly justified by, her past entanglements with Gregory. It's actually quite nice to see a fantasy world that doesn't simply perpetuate the trope of the wicked witch, but instead dreams up characters that fall along a broad spectrum of morality.

Barnes is well-cast as Tom, holding his own as both a hero and quasi-romantic lead. He shares a sweet, though not particularly electric, chemistry with Vikander who is, thankfully, called upon to do more than simper and flirt. But there are considerably more thrills to be had with Bridges, who manages to fold charm, menace and darkness into Gregory; and Moore, who's clearly having plenty of fun cutting her way through scenes as a whirlwind of madness and malevolence.

By all accounts, Seventh Son should really have been an outright flop. It may still play as such to any fantasy aficionados who are demanding greatness on the level of The Lord Of The Rings. But, for pretty much everyone else, Seventh Son is an entertaining, undemanding film with some good ideas and a lot of fun moments. It's not a particularly great example of its genre but, given its troubled production history, that it's not completely execrable is probably nothing short of a miracle.
153 out of 191 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Solid fantasy-adventure
korcsmarosandras31 January 2015
I'm afraid after many delays and with a February release date in the US, this would flop. I would understand it in a way. It looks like a cheap B-movie. And a B-movie it is: offers nothing new, nothing special, it exists only to entertain. And you know what? I LOVE that. I'm THAT kind of person.

Despite it is based on a book, the story is so average it hurts. And while the characters are also clichéd, at least they have some flesh, thanks to the actors and the director.

It has some nice monster action set pieces and the pace moves in a good fashion. While its production cost is nowhere to the likes of a Hobbit movie, the effects are great and I was very surprised that the 3D actually worked.

My advise: If you want an experience like the Hobbit or the Harry Potter movies, don't watch this. But if you like fantasy movies like Willow or Dragonheart (and maybe Stardust), give it a chance.
130 out of 181 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
For Fantasy Fans Who Enjoy The Genre, It's An OK Watch.
Vaduen21 February 2015
I can see why critics and people in general are dissing the film. I think the problem with the film, is that it's director, Sergey Bodrov has never done a film of this scope. At least, never a film with a budget of 95 million dollars.

The film is 102 minutes long. Had it been longer, I think many more "things" could have been better explained. It just seemed some of the scenes were out of sequence, or, didn't have enough detail. Had this film had Peter Jackson, or Guillermo del Toro at the helm, it would have been an entirely different film. Considering the LOTR series each had about the same budget, this film could have been so much more.

The film seemed fragmented. It reminded me of the failed film Eragon, where you suddenly go from farm boy, to instantly learning Elvish, knowing how to fight, and just "knowing" everything. We need to see the characters develop.

Now, I'm a hard core fan of this genre. I'll be the first to admit, that pairing Jeff Bridges with Julianne Moore was a great idea. While we get more background on Bridge's character than we do with other characters in the film, their performances, while quite acceptable could have been much better. Personally, I thought Bridges portrayal of Master Gregory was well executed. Again, I think the director was perhaps the main problem, reigning in their performances.

I keep seeing articles and reviews from people who've read the book, then bash the film because the film itself is so far separated from the text. I don't like to compare books to film, simply because you can go into so much more detail in a book.

I have to say it. I still enjoyed the film even though it left a lot of unanswered questions for me. If you like the fantasy series, as I do, then go into the film without preconceptions, and, enjoy it for what it is, entertainment. While it's not the best film to ever hit the big screen, it's still fun.
52 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fun but forgettable
Gordon-115 January 2015
This film tells the tale of a seventh son from a village, who is chosen by a master to fight the evil witch who will rule the land.

"Seventh Son" is one of the rare mediaeval fantasy film, that don't seem to be made anymore. This fantasy tale is entertaining, and Julianne Moore gives a good performance of a cold blooded witch. The story itself is not particularly interesting or engaging, and there is little thrill. The film is heavily reliant on computer generated graphics, but we have been wowed by "The Hobbit" and "The Lord of the Rings" already. Hence, "Seventh Son" offers nothing new, and only offers a brainless way to kill two hours.
66 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not even A-listers like Jeff Bridges and Julianne Moore can save this under-developed and under-directed fantasy epic wannabe from its own tedium and mediocrity
moviexclusive30 December 2014
Hollywood has of late had a lousy track record of fantasy action epics, and 'Seventh Son', which arrives just in time to close off the year, is yet another blemish to add to that list. Delayed nearly a year while its production company Legendary switched studios, this Universal release assembles A-listers Jeff Bridges and Julianne Moore with 'The Chronicles of Narnia' star Ben Barnes for an expensive big- screen adaptation of the first book of Joseph Delaney's 'The Wardstone Chronicles' against tawdry sets and second-rate visual effects.

We aren't usually that critical of a film's production design, but there is just something awfully dreary about the widescreen world of Russian director Sergei Bodrov's debut English-language feature. Indeed, the only human city where any of the action takes place looks like it was rented right after the cast and crew of 'Game of Thrones' abandoned it, while the mountain fortress which principal villain Mother Malkin makes her not-so-humble abode seems like it was designed for some 1960s B-grade science-fiction movie. The ugliness of these green-screened sets is even more obvious against the occasional picturesque Canadian backdrops, which cinematographer Newton Thomas Sigel ably captures to evoke a majestic 'Lord of the Rings' feel.

Alas the unattractive visuals are just one of the litany of complaints that you are likely to have. What production designer Dante Ferretti fails to accomplish in sets, visual effects designer John Dykstra also fails to make up for in post-production. Whether the oversized orcs or shape-shifting witches (Moore and her fellow consort Djimon Hounsou transform into dragons, while others transform into creatures with reptilian-like tongues or Hindu deity-like arms), the CG effects for what was once intended to be a franchise tentpole are both unimaginatively conceived and poorly executed, even more appalling when viewed in post-conversion 3D or worse on an IMAX screen.

And yet to fault its technical shortcomings seems at least a tad unfair, in particular because the movie's problems are much more fundamental. For one, despite boasting an impressive team of screenwriters including Matt Greenberg, Charles Leavitt and Steven Knight, there is hardly a story here. Without any context, we start with a younger Jeff Bridges imprisoning the Queen Witch, Mother Malkin (Moore), up in the mountains. The impending dawn of the once-a-century blood moon lends her strength to break out of her metal confines, and in an early sequence, confront her jailer Master Gregory (Bridges) and his not-so-lucky apprentice Billy (Game of Thrones' Kit Harington). When that reunion ends with Billy dead, Gregory sets out recruiting a new "seventh son of a seventh son", Thomas (Barnes), who so happens to be suffering from elliptic visions of Gregory and Malkin.

In narrative jargon, Thomas is The Chosen One, the anointed protégé who under the tutelage of Master Gregory will become his very equal and take his place among the elite group of knights who call themselves the Falcon. There is no doubt during the movie, even when his life seems to be in mortal danger, that Thomas will live to see the death of Mother Malkin and perhaps even the light of another sequel. There is also no doubt, despite Gregory's initial reservations, that Thomas will be ready within the span of just seven days to defeat the evil that Malkin possesses within her goth-like getup. And for that matter, there is no doubt that Thomas will find true love in Alice (Swedish actress Alicia Vikander), a witch whom he rescues from the town mob and who turns out to be the daughter of Malkin's younger sister.

The plotting is as straight-forward as it gets, and functions no more than to connect the numerous noisy action sequences together. There is also hardly any character to speak of, each one of them leading or supporting mere stock types that you would be familiar with from countless other such fantasy flicks. The latter is also why we feel sorry for Bridges, a fine actor who's played the grizzled veteran one too many times of late in 'R.I.P.D.' and 'The Giver' and is here trying not to sound condescending while delivering lame one-liners with a distinct twang. Moore too is an equally fine actress in her own right utterly wasted in a thankless role, and together, what chemistry the pair had in 'The Big Lebowski' is sorely missing in their first reunion since.

If the decision to cast two acclaimed actors to lend legitimacy to the project does nothing to help the film, the casting of its younger actors also fails to do it any favours. Barnes tries his best to project fresh-eyed enthusiasm, but the late decision to cast the 31- year-old actor in the role of a 17-year-old – instead of 'The Hunger Games'' Sam Claflin is ultimately a misguided one. He also shares too little chemistry with Vikander, who looks appropriately beguiling but is little much else. Barnes and Vikander are also stuck in an awkward romance which is bound to inspire some unintended giggles especially for a sequence where the two supposedly exchange loving glances while lying together in bed.

There is hardly anything fascinating about 'Seventh Son', whose title belongs better in a tongue twister than in an expensive and extravagant swords-and-dragons epic. Yes, there is good reason indeed why former studio Warner Bros had dragged its feet in releasing this, and what a relief it must have felt that it need not try to justify why it decided to do so when it already has an entire trilogy in 'The Hobbit'. No matter that the director is a two-time Academy Award nominee for his Russian films 'Prisoner of the Mountains' and 'Mongol', his Hollywood foray is an embarrassing misstep that he would no doubt want to be forgotten as soon as possible. He needn't worry; to spare yourself the agony of sitting through yet another disappointing fantasy wanna-be epic, go find any one of the other sons and just avoid the Seventh.
125 out of 203 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A mildly entertaining 3D adventure for the start of the year
helmutty2 January 2015
The long-delayed young adult book adaptation finally shows up on big screen. Asia noticeably has an earlier release date. The question now is "Is it worth the wait?" For a movie delayed this long, people have already forgotten about it so I won't be surprised if it flops at box office. This gets as generic as what a fantasy period film can be. It is packed with every cliché you find in the genre however it is still entertaining with its action set pieces, decent CGI and 3D.

The story: Jeff Bridges plays a gruff Master Gregory who has lost his apprentice (Kit Harington) during a fight with a powerful witch (Julianne Moore). Thomas Ward (Ben Barnes) is chosen to be Gregory's new apprentice. And there you go, an action-packed adventure with perilous monsters and witches lurking. Nothing in the movie surprises, even the twists have been seen before. There are a few set pieces including a full-blown climax that use extensive CGI. Although entertaining to watch, they are lacking in the creativity department. Acting wise is alright. Music is generic but does elevate a sense of peril during the action.

3D: It is surprisingly decent. I thought it would be another sloppy post-converted 3D movie that barely has depth. The 3D effects work the most during the CGI set pieces with monsters chomping right at your face. It has a reasonable amount of depth between characters and the background.

Overall: Is it worth to watch it in cinema? Only if you are interested in young adult adaptations. If you don't, you are not missing much. It has all the clichés what a fantasy period movie has and does not break any new ground. Is it worth the wait? Probably not. But if you are in need of entertainment, this would just entertain you for 2 hours.

More on: http://moreviewsed.blogspot.sg
56 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cliché as a film can be
rprince-832-629427 February 2015
-Seventh Son (2015) movie review: -Seventh Son is a fantasy/adventure film about the last man in an order of knights that were basically medieval Ghostbusters. He takes on a new, young apprentice who is destined for greatness and blah blah blah prophecy, blah blah blah training, blah blah blah evil threat, blah blah blah fulfil his destiny type of thing.

-The entire film is like a cliché video game complete with boss battles, side-quests, and gaining new equipment. It was not bad, but not good or anything new.

-The story is cliché and predictable as pretty much anything. I knew exactly how it would go down throughout the entire film.

-The pace is somewhat inconsistent, with a few parts that rush and a few parts that drag.

-The acting is fine. Jeff Bridges did his best imitation of himself from True Grit, which was only so-so believable. Ben Barnes did his best impression of himself as Prince Caspian, minus the accent. So he was convincing at least. Julianna Moore is the villain, and she was the best one in it.

-The characters are all cliché and offered nothing new.

-The music…. I'm going to go back to this one….

-The CGI was not as bad as the trailer, but not great. The originality the film offered in the villains was not terrible either. They just played Dark Souls and said "Hey! Let's use all of the villains!" -There are some scenes that are pretty witty, and some others that are pretty entertaining. So it was enjoyable to an extent.

-So my least favorite thing about the film was the music…. Right off the bat I noticed. Here is what happened: They were done with the editing and somebody said "Oh guys! We forgot music!" and another guy answered, "Oh crap! It's okay, just use music from Game of Thrones, Clash of the Titans, Wrath of the Titans, and Robin Hood! Problem solved!" Oh my gosh I knew every song that played. And they picked two of my favorite soundtracks to use! So totally took me out of the moment. All of the moments. All of them.

-Anyway, Seventh Son is nothing new and has some elements, like the freaking music, that make it not good. However it has some entertainment value to it, so really, if you don't care about predictability and music, Seventh Son would actually be worth watching on Nexflix.

-It is PG-13 for some light violence, scary-ish images, dealings with things like sorcery, and a random F-word. Because that existed?
39 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Typical Fantasy Action Film
3xHCCH8 January 2015
Set in medieval times in Europe somewhere, "Seventh Son" brings us back to a time when supernatural beings like witches, ghosts, ghasts and the like wreak terror on the countryside. The people depend on a special knight called the "Spook" to fight these creatures and restore peace.

Master Gregory is the last spook and he is getting on in age. In his last big fight with the grand witch Mother Malkin, he lost his latest apprentice Billy. Gregory searches for another "seventh son of a seventh son" to take his place.

His quest leads him to the farm of the Wards. As the young impulsive Tom heeds the Spook's call, will he be up to the task of becoming the new Spook before Mother Malkin fully regains her powers by the night of the blood moon? Or will Tom's falling for the charms of pretty Alice distract him from his destiny?

Cut down to its basic storyline, you would see a very common basic plot in many an adventure film: an old master training an heir-apparent to his position. This film takes that plot and brings into it fantastic monsters in action and teenage romance in bloom.

Ben Barnes plays Tom Ward. Barnes first gained attention as Prince Caspian in the Narnia films, though his career did not really fly too much. He takes another stab at stardom with yet another action fantasy with this one. Already a adult man, Barnes seemed too old for the character he is supposed to play. Anyhow, he still has a youthful mien to pull it off. I think he was cast so that a romance angle can be developed as well.

Jeff Bridges plays Master Gregory. He is at his hammy best here and he looks like he had a good time filming this. In fact, Bridges felt like he just reprised his role in last year's "RIPD", where he was a senior ghost policeman training a new recruit. Bridges had some witty ripostes which added the requisite humor to the proceedings.

Julianne Moore goes all campy playing Mother Malkin with evil relish and glee. She gets to wear more witchy-chic than Maleficent and she seemed to be having a field day with this over-the-top character, much unlike the more serious and quiet ones she is more known for. In addition, she and her coven of powerful witches (played by Antje Traue, Djimon Hounsou, Jason Scott Lee, among others) get to transform into dragons and similarly fantastic beasts, thanks to neat and nifty computer- generated special effects.

This film is based on the young adult novel "The Spook's Apprentice" written by Joseph Delaney. Unlike the atmospheric creepy book it was based on, the film is makes it more of an action fantasy for cinematic verve. Tom and Alice in the book are both pre-teens. The witch characters did not fit their descriptions in the book as well. They did not turn into animals, for one. In fact, one of the side characters, the deformed humanoid Tusk, even shifts over from evil in the book to good in the film.

The visual effects were hit and miss, some (like the creature transformations) were impressive and seamless, but some (like the conflagrations) looked old-fashioned and garishly fake. Book fans may be disappointed by the major deviations from the original tale. Those who are unfamiliar with the book though will be entertained, but will definitely feel that the story being told by director Sergey Bodrov follows a tired and very familiar formula. 6/10.
34 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Pleasantly surprised. Mindless entertainment
witster1828 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I've rented many a film over the last year, knowing exactly what I was getting into, going-in with meager expectations, and all too often, even those haven't been met. Stathom's "Wild Card", "In Cold Blood"... You know, films that you know aren't going to be great, but you just hope they keep your attention and fill whatever genre craving I happen to have that particular evening.

This particular night, i craved some fantasy. Rented "Dracula untold"(haven't watched yet), and this film.

I was surprised by the a-list of actors - albeit some of them seem to be branching over to the 'slightly washed-up' category. Bridges is good as usual. His character adds just the right amount of brevity to the film. He's the glue here.

The film is paced perfectly. I knew it was going to be alright when i read the word cliché' 10 times in the first 4written reviews.

Thats usually a "shoe-in" for "will exceed expectations".

"The Seventh Son" does travel over beaten paths, but it's still an entertaining passing of the time. It's better than "Snow WHite and the Huntsmen", "Jack the Giant Slayer", "Season of the Witch", and "Prince of Persia", but it's not quite as good as "Maleficient". Still good for the genre, especially recently.

If you're craving mindless fantasy, it does the trick. 61/100
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining
nederlandhiker10 January 2015
Great sets, good acting, adventure, fantasy, good guys, bad guys, magic, dragons, humor and romance. We went to be entertained and we were. Very enjoyable and the good guys win.

If your looking for a critics choice then you might as well stay home, if you use the critics bad reviews as a reason to go. You'll enjoy it, the critics can't act or they would, they simply whine, nitpick and criticize what they themselves are incapable of.

The interaction between characters was easy going and they seemed at ease with one another. Jeff Bridges was perfect in his role and carried the film. The scenery was great and the storyline while simple was well done and fun.

Once again the critics are wrong. Enjoy.
40 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great potential but
paul_3-960-89677415 January 2015
When I first saw the trailer for the movie it shone a light on a book series that I didn't know about. The first trailer was interesting and entertaining. The second one was about just as good as the first one but the movie kinda disappointed me.

Seventh Son has a lot of potential, the special effects are good, the action scenes are interesting, and the cast is amazing but something doesn't gel. There's something wrong the movie could have been better and it might be the writing or the directing . I didn't really care about the characters, I did not once I worried or cared about any of them dying.

The rhythm was also off, there wasn't really a built up, there were no stakes and I was hardly captivated. I'm sorry to say but the trailers were kind of better. I will read the books though, I feel like the best part of Seventh Son might be from the books.

wornoutspines.com
43 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Mindbogglingly bad!
siderite5 January 2015
I have read a few books from the Spook's Apprentice series and I can tell you with certainty that this movie is very far from the plot there. Worst than that, every decent scene in the film is in the trailer and the rest are just filling. No real fights, no real drama, the acting was abysmal, but it pales in comparison with the script, which seems to be have been written by a banker worrying he is giving the world too much. It is a horribly bad film that I advise against watching.

The books themselves are a sort of Harry Potterish thing for children, replacing Hogwarts with a grumpy fighter against the creatures of the dark and Harry with a rare "seventh son of a seventh son" that is traditionally employed in this "spook" business. There were several things that went against this series becoming very popular: first is the term "spook" which in the US was controversial due to some colloquial racial meaning, so they changed the name with which they published the book into The Last Apprentice. Then the name of the author, Joseph Delaney, which is pretty common and easy to confuse with other writers named Delaney.

However the plot of the books is easy to follow, interesting, sometimes engaging; Delaney had just as much right for fame as J.K. Rowling. Alas, this film pretty much cements his failure. Too bad.
47 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mindlessly Awful
banasooth3 April 2015
Anyone who had anything to do with the script of this movie should be ashamed of themselves.

In a different reality, such bad writing would be a sign of evil and plague and the entire line of production staff who helped created that script right back to the author of its original novel would be excised from meatspace like a sarcoma.

Gibberish doesn't even do it justice.

A shocking waste of acting talent.

Casting a 33 year old as a 12 year old.

Not even twenty minutes in to the movie and it feels like it's missing an opening third.

I'm not saying don't watch this movie. Do - suffer through it - then come online and vent your nauseous disappointment in the hope that those involved in production lose their careers.

It's like a couple of producers, a script writer and a director met and conspired to actually defecate into your mind.

This is awful. Awful insulting dreck.

A Terry Crews Old Spice commercial has better continuity.
26 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining Fantasy Film
claudio_carvalho31 May 2015
The hunter of supernatural creatures Master Gregory (Jeff Bridges) traps the queen of the witches Mother Malkin (Julianne Moore) is a pit on the top of a mountain. Years later, she escapes from the pit and Master Gregory and his apprentice Mr. Bradley (Kit Harington) hunt her down. However Mother Malkin kills Mr. Bradley and flees to a derelict castle that she restores with magic. She meets her sister Bony Lizzie (Antje Traue) and her niece Alice (Alicia Vikander) and plans to destroy Master Gregory to begin her kingdom of evil. Meanwhile the old hunter recruits the naive farmer Tom Ward (Ben Barnes), who is the seventh son of the seventh son of the Ward family, to team up with him and his partner Tusk (John DeSantis) to hunt down Mother Malkin. Tom's mother (Olivia Williams), who is secretly a good witch, gives a necklace with a magic stone to protect him. They head to the village where Tom meets Alice and falls in love with her. But what is the true intention of Alice? Will they succeed in destroying the powerful Mother Malkin?

"Seventh Son" is a fantasy film indicated for fans of the genre. The story is full of action, with romance, funny situations and great CGI. There is a cameo of Kit "Jon Snow" Harington in the role of Master Gregory's apprentice; the gorgeous Julianne Moore does not seem to age and performs the evil Mother Malkin; Olivia Williams has a minor but important role of the mother and good witch; the Swedish actress Antje Traue, the Ava of "Ex-Machina", is very beautiful and talented. However Jeff Bridges disappoints with a weird way of speaking, maybe with the intention of looking older. In the end, "Seventh Son" works perfectly well on DVD. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "O Sétimo Filho" ("The Seventh Son")
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
All the white washed, generic, bored fantasy standards you can fit into a single film.
Franco_Strydom10 January 2015
It's not an awful film but if you want to see something new, anything new, then this isn't the film to look at. The production quality is high; things look good. They're shot well and you can see a lot of time and effort went into creating it. But I have to ask, if you're going to put that much time and effort into a project, why not do something new/fresh/unique/original?

The narrative is more predictable than a Dungeons and Dragons rulebook and when the description for a monster was presented as a "level six monster" I had to take a moment to ensure my jaw wasn't on my lap. The character archetypes walk straight of the pages of any explanation of the Monomyth or Three Act Play. The mentor is a grumpy old man who gets disrespected by everyone but who is 'the most incredible fighter of evil'. The hero is 'the most unlikely candidate' to past the trails of being a Spook. Yes, the greatest warriors against evil are called Spooks – sounds too much like lazy writing to ignore. They have to defeat the 'greatest evil' before the 'blood moon' is full. The most generic fantasy content and lingo.

Some of the dialog was also atrocious. In a fight one character comments "(y)ou know nothing of dragons." This intimidating comment is either completely useless as there are no other reference to dragons and if it turns out that the flying baddies are dragons then the statement is incorrect as the person the comment was aimed at knows the one quite intimately. Another such comment was "his reign of terror". The him that is referred to here holds no station of power beyond the power he claims over any person he faces in single combat, hardly a reign of any kind.

The representation of the antagonists was interesting, visually at least. The master assassin couldn't be bothered to do anything sneaky or stealthily. His 'army of assassins' are incorrectly introduced as, well, assassins when really they're just 'random cannon fodder for the slaughter' to fill in the fight scenes between Lieutenants; yes the bad guys (who are witches) have a queen and she has lieutenants.

The hero goes through the minimal required amount of character development, just like everyone else. Everyone who has to die, dies on cue. The love interest is a shallow relationship that starts with eye contact and ends with betraying their respective parties at one point or another, with little other than a single make out session in between.

I'm looking for a saving grace and I'm having trouble coming up with one. It's like drinking a glass of tap water, not bad but it's not going to tickle your taste buds.
38 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
far from a bad movie
m-dybdal13 April 2015
its a adventure with not bad actors and the story line is OK and the effects is more then OK by the this kind of movies .. so i say see it and enjoy it for what it is ... don't expect a cult classic or something like that .. but its entertainment nothing more .. if u do that this is not bad at all:) what more can i say about it ... i really hate IMDb rule about all this lines .. but why some give this a bad review .. i just don't understand them at all .. Adventure, Fantasy = watch it for the entertainment and eat snacks and enjoy :) if u don't like Adventure, Fantasy then don't watch it .. kinda simple really :) i like to have a movie talk with the ones that gives this one a bad review to understand what the hell they don't like about it
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It will surprise you
lucky93-122 March 2015
Amazing film in my opinion, its a medieval fantasy of which there aren't that many that are good. The plot is clichéd typical guy with destiny saves the day, love interest and a mentor with cheese one- liners. But in my opinion it really comes together, the attention to detail is what makes the movie, you can believe that really can exist. Best comparison i can give is the Witcher universe you, honestly change the names and the plot and you can step in Geralt's world. And also there is a little bit of Dark Souls in there. I liked some of the cgi, but there is also some really bad for a 2014 film. People will call me crazy, but i think its better than the 2nd and 3rd Hobbit movies which were full of unnecessary cgi and it's really bloated. I think if you are a medieval fantasy fan you'll like it.
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Medieval Fantasy Movie
joshbull6236 February 2015
Went in with no expectations and was pleasantly surprised. No regrets paying to see it in theater which is more than I could say with the third hobbit movie. Reminds me of a merlin/arthur like film sprinkled in with some brothers grimm/season of the witch. Well done, nothing incredible, but no over the top or in my opinion failed special effects or actions. Nothing against any of the actors either. If I had to grade it as a movie over all, not a A but a solid B-B-. For what it did in the medieval fantasy genre especially compared to what we have seen from that genre as of late, it hits the A there sure. I recommend seeing it in theater, no IMAX or 3D, just standard showing though.
27 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hollywood ... Get a writer
boydwalters23 March 2015
Hollywood ... Get a writer ... This feeble excuse for an adventure movie has effects ( that you've seen before in loads of films ) ... Actors getting paid for nothing ( that you've seen before in loads of films ) ... A hero that obviously wouldn't survive for 5 minutes after he stepped out from behind his desk in the real world ... Jeff Bridges with a speech impediment taking the mickey out of the goons that are making this thing ( but not being amusing ... possibly deliberately )... Kit Harrington being himself as a bad adventure film feature for 5 minutes ... Julianne Moore airbrushed to hell ... Second or third hand lord of the ( very tired ) rings scenery ... And zero amusement or amazement ... Yawn ... Pick your nose or cut your nails ... Its more interesting
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Such a disappointment
mikefrei27 March 2015
I had hoped this would be a fun, escapist popcorn movie but it was not to be. You can't fault any of the actors, I'm sure they all saw some potential and the budget was obviously fat. The score, effects, set and costume were all spot on. There may actually be a decent story under this mess but I couldn't even make it half way through the film.

What this movie is about has more to do with someone who really wanted to make a movie that had deep pockets but no understanding of story telling or continuity. The film fails spectacularly somewhere in the mix of writing, editing and direction. I suspect the film editors did what they could but the writer/directer combo falls miserably short. Such a waste of good actors and a budget. It should be required material for all film students on how not to make a movie.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Great visualisation BUT lacked everything else
joshuaxie199321 February 2015
The only thing that was attractive was the visualisation of mystical creatures and monsters. Witches transforming into dragons, weird demons getting summoned were spectacular but unfortunately nothing else in the movie could carry it on. The plot was on the slightly boring side but that could be over looked. The real sins are listed below which would have made it much better despite the boring story.

1) Relationships lacked serious development. Grumpy teacher-"hardworking but useless" pupil relationship was so cliché it pained me to see what interesting skills would be learnt (other than sprinkling iron or silver filing). None. Dashing Ben Barnes (Tom) and Alicia Vikander (Alice) had potential for a wonderful romantic relationship HOWEVER, the lack of proper development made it look (sadly) like a superficial crush of a boy who was never met a decent looking girl. Calling the relationship true love just because you had visions of her and seen her swimming in a lake under the moonlight made this look like an "Anna-Hans" relationship from Frozen.

2) With such a powerful antagonist such as Mother Malkin, there was definitely much more room to level up our dear protagonist to her level, have a spectacular one-on-one showdown before finally having her die a spectacular death. Instead, it was more like the work of the mystical staff that Tom could suddenly activate, killing most opponents with a single strike. Killing Mother Malkin with a single random hidden dagger was truly insulting, seeing how Mother Malkin was previously impervious to most attacks. Oh and Tom did not really kill the creature in the woods, he kinda kamikazed with it, and he was lucky the fall down the water fall killed the creature and not him. The amount of luck this kid had to escape every situation really deducted his perceived ability to actually defeat Mother Malkin.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Haters are too blind, too blind to see...
CaptainBanjax11 March 2015
WARNING DOESN'T CONTAIN ANY SPOILERS.

I bumped into a mystical old prophet the other day, and he looked at me and laughed at me. He then pointed me to a trailer for this movie.

After seeing a trailer for this movie, I assumed I was going to get a ripping yarn based on the Iron Maiden album of the same name.

Well, I have to say I wasn't disappointed. The story made as much sense as the Can I Play with Madness video and the script made as much sense as the lyrics of the same song.

Bottom line is, this movie gave me the sense to wonder, to wonder if I'm free.

Can you play with madness? If you watch this movie, yes you can, you can play with madness...

I hope this review was useful.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining Kill-the-Witch adventure with a love story Warning: Spoilers
"Seventh Son" is a classic struggle between knights and witches with a young love story and a tragic long-ago love story. It is a typical fantasy told with bits of heart and bits of drama.

You will enjoy the morphing of animals into humans and the abundant battles with beasts and monsters. Perhaps there are too many repetitive yawn-inducing CG battles. Although the storyline is somewhat predictable, it has enough twists and revelations to keep the audience somewhat excited.

The opening scene is fascinating: the witch being locked away by a mysterious man and then fast-forward passing-of-time in what it looks like is a Grand Canyon/Highlands hybrid landscape. During the whole movie the scenery is very enjoyable, including the medieval villages and castles. Certainly Julianne Moore impersonation as the evil shape-shifter witch is spellbinding! And then, there are the dragons--loved that too! The chosen boy to become apprentice has all these visions that foreshadow what's coming next. Along the entire movie, the visuals are dulled by a certain haze or fog--I guess that's the mood the director wants to convey for the film.

The centerpiece of the story is the witch and revolving around that is the training of the seventh son. After the introduction, we then meet Gregory (Jeff Bridges). and we learn what he wants-- to kill all witches. Jeff Bridges is sort of a humorous medieval Buffalo-Bill-looking knight determined to destroy the witch--Mother Malkin (Julianne Moore), and to accomplish that, he recruits the Seventh Son, the country boy, Tom (Ben Barnes). We also learn that the witch wants revenge, and she'll organize her forces to take power. When we meet Tom, the to-be-apprentice, we learn that he wants a different life and that he has a strong bond with his mother, who gives him a special pendant before he goes with the teacher (Jeff Bridges). We later discover some truths about Tom and about Gregory that give us a new insight into these characters. This pendant, and the emphasis on the mother have a reason to be--these two elements become relevant later in the story. Next appears a young witch, who will captivate Tom's heart.

Overall the performances are passionless, except for the witch herself. Perhaps the story spends more time in battles than in character exploration. My favorite part of the movie is the third act: suddenly there's drama! In the end, we learn that there are good witches and bad witches, and that a change of heart is possible.

This is no "Lord of the Rings" and is not much of a memorable movie, but it is entertaining. It's based on a fantasy novel--The Last Apprentice--the Revenge of the Witch. Actually "Seventh Son" reminds me of that Michelle Pfeiffer witch film: Stardust and also of the "Chronicles of Narnia."

Certainly this is a film worth watching. I thought I wouldn't, but I'm planning to watch this movie a second time. There's something compelling about it and I want to find out what it is...

Enjoy.

Thanks for reading! Cheers.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A fun fantasy movie filled with clichés
just_for_movies15 February 2015
Seventh Son exceeded my expeditions by a great deal. I had no high hopes for this movie in the first place but I thought it would at least be a cheesy, clichéd, fantasy movie that just might be good. Well, it definitely was clichéd and slightly cheesy but I enjoyed it way more than I thought I would.

First off, the story and plot were pretty basic. The movie certainly had its cheesy one-liners and the plot definitely was very clichéd with the typical good vs. evil and a "nobody" boy needs to fulfill his destiny. But other than that, the story and plot were pretty basic and didn't require much thinking. I, for one, understood what was happening for most of the time. There were moments in the movie that just happened and then weren't explained at all. Those were the moments where I was like, "So why did that happen?"

The acting... was not that bad actually. I was particularly impressed with Ben Barnes in the lead role. Julianne Moore was a pretty good evil witch and all the other supporting actors and actresses fit surprisingly well in their roles. The real downfall though is Jeff Bridges. His acting was just kind of terrible I have to admit. His voice was the main problem, it being almost inaudible. I suppose he wanted to embrace Master Gregory's scruffy manner, but it did not really work out.

Now about the actual seeing and hearing. The music was kind of that usual epic fantasy music, but none the less it fit well with the movie. Before I start on visual effects, I want to say that the color correction on this movie in the trailers looked quite ugly, but it turns out that the actual movie is just fine, especially on a big screen. Anyway, the visual effects were generally pretty good. Judging by the trailers and my own instincts, I thought they were going to be, at best, mediocre. But it turns out they were quite good. There were some moments where I thought "Yup, they definitely used green screen for that shot" or there were moments were the VFX themselves were just not quite finished or not good in general. But all in all, they were actually pretty good.

In the end, Seventh Son is an extremely fun, cheesy adventure movie that is worth seeing in theaters. If you go in with low expectations or an open mind, you will enjoy it immensely.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Do not ...
alnu-930-98228422 April 2015
...watch this, do this again, think of it, talk of it, ask why ... S..t happens, even when taking 95 mil USD to occur. 95 million USD would have been better used on anything else ... really. A mock of the book , a mock of the characters. Julianne Moore is the old hag turned sexed vamp , Bridges is more of a beggar than the cynical cool hearted teacher, battling an non-descript made-up accent. It is a total mess. And under average for the genre as well. Full of stereotypes, boring if not idiotic sometimes and .... uffff I absolutely hate it when "noobs" get to play with big ideas or idiots get to thrash big ideas in order to recover their money. Stories like the story of Tom Ward and his teacher belong to all of us, stop stomping your muddy feet on them !!! There is a reason they were best-sellers ... cause we liked them as they were written !!!
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed