If I Stay (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Add a Review
147 Reviews
Sort by:
7/10
What would you sacrifice for your art?
teknotexan10 February 2018
This film was not supposed to be as good as it was. I expected to be disappointed, but I can say I was impressed and moved deeply. So what if her face (Moretz) was digitally imposed on a real cellist. Moretz did take lessons, but was not screen ready. I respect that sort of commitment to a part. I've played for 30 years, so I know the time needed exhibit such bow control. (We did see the orignal baroque bowing of the Prelude)

A teenage romance that ends too soon for their teenage hearts. The boy is destructive and the girl is a loner, but music brings them together. Reminded me of August Rush, just with teens. We can experience the awkwardness of teen romance that appears to be true love. Regardless, this is more than a film about teens in love, far more. We learn of the sacrifice a family makes for their children, for music.

The film is emotional, yes, verily, with a simple storyline, so be ready to enjoy this film once, and leave it there. It is simply too dramatic, too close to the heart, to heavy to watch on repeat. With that said, it is a beautiful film, perfectly packaged for an "Insta-gratification Generation" while appealing to Xennials and Milenials alike.

And it is all tied together with good music: Saint-Saëns Concerto N°1, Beethoven Cello Sonata N°3 in A Major, and the Kodály Solo Sonata. We enjoy the Kodály twice and quite prominently actually. We witness the only ever cello audition, ever in a film. We are with Mia and her family as they record her audition, and we witness the importance of a little brother's encouragement.

I know what that is like because I lived Mia's life, sans the romance. My family believed in me, encouraged me, stood backstage and gave in-car pep talks. They let me wander off and listen to the 3rd Beethoven, for months as I dreamed of a music school in California. I experienced that same "out-of-body" feeling Mia felt during her in-person audition. I know what it is like to play your guts out and leave it all on the stage. And I know the joy of winning that audition too. :-)

I am a cellist, who song writes on guitar, who lost a father to brain cancer, who auditioned for uni and WON with the same Beethoven A Major Sonata Mia loves so much. Music has brought me back to so many times, and cello is always bring me closer to my late father.

Plus, my family owned a green Ford Taurus wagon, and I love the Smashing Pumpkins.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Breathtaking
gogismile30 January 2018
A story about true unconditional love that can bring you back to life! A must-watch tittle!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good but slow and repetitive
stormpeaks21 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Overall the movie is worth a good 7/10 , story is really slow and is mostly consisting of flash backs and a love story between a young couple , it kinda fails to deliver until the end which honestly got a few tears from me as i thought it was really cute and emotional. Still doesnt deserve more than 7/10 on my end , but still a good watch anyway. Recommended if you like "young couple" lovestories.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best Movie Ever
luluha5 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This makes me cry every time- whoever doesn't feel inspired has no heart! Chloe Moretz's acting is impeccable. I was so surprised at how well she acted out Mia's passion (The cello). This movie is the perfect balance between a romantic movie and a drama movie. All the important things in Mia's life add up and cause her to stay. It goes to show that you don't always need a real family to have a great life! Again- so inspirational!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Helpful in my real life
lindly3 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Over a period of three years, every member of my family died -- along with my best friend. I, of course, fell into a depression I am still recovering from.

It was during a particularly difficult time that I sought counseling services, but they spent my hourly allotment testing me for some mental illness, which I knew I didn't have... So it came down to me deciding whether to continue or whether to quit that I happened to turn on my television set in the process of showing this movie...

This movie showed me that at some time in the "eternity," I chose this... I CHOSE THIS!!

And when this young girl has her breakthrough, I did, too! They want me to stay...

Anyone giving this movie a down thumb... hasn't been in this situation yet.

For me, it was a life saver!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
10/10
ClaudiuTuleu15 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is a great movie. I'm not a fan of drama movies, but this movie was amazing. It's worth seeing!I'm happy because I saw it, and I not regret it. This movie made me see the world more beautiful and love my family and friends for as long as I can. The conclusion is that this film is worth seeing, not just for action but also for the wonderful actors who made this film a masterpiece.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A great idea with an implied predictable finale
Mihai Toma5 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Mia Hall, a very talented cello player has a lot of problems on her mind regarding her future as a musician, her family and her boyfriend, but nothing compares to what she's about to experience. She's faced with a near death situation which brings her into a position from where she can relive the most important moments of her life and try to choose a path of life or death. Tragedies come, one after another, making her decision harder, but her entire future is solely up to her.

It's an interesting idea of a state of trance in which you can have some flashbacks and figure out what you're going to do with your life, studying the present at the same time. Unfortunately, from my point of view, I simply cannot find the problem in this situation. I cannot think of a person who would actually choose to die instead of continuing his life, no matter how hard it seemed to be ahead. With life, you're not given a second chance. You live or it's game over. And with this said, there comes this movie's predictability which kind of spoils the finale. Besides this, it is exactly what you would expect from this type of movie. Dramatic and sad but also romantic and emotional. You feel sorry for her numerous times, and that is a good thing, especially as she is faced with more and more difficulties. Fortunately, she gets a great dose of encouragements from her close ones, making her decision somewhat easier.

It is a good movie but unfortunately it fails to do something that truly impresses you, something to make you suddenly burst into tears, facts which I consider a must have in this kind of films.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Another revolution of a young adult novel made into film
kz917-126 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
What would you do if your entire immediate family perished in a car crash? Would you choose to live or follow the light?

That is the decision Mia is grappling with in her out of body experience.

I take umbrage with several of the plot points though. The weather is sooo bad they cancel school, but the family decides to go out in their car sledding? WTH? See also not much snow on the ground when everyone arrives at the hospital!?

Despite all that it was an enjoyable movie!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Just Avoid It!!
noonoonomore5 June 2017
I can't believe I wasted my evening on this. An immature story good enough only for girls below twelve years of age. I wonder why Hollywood likes to glorify self-centered annoying little girls who only complain about everything and the only purpose of other people's existence is to comfort them. I guess the industry needs us, girls, as needy as possible and this is its way of brainwashing us. T'was boring, stupid and pointless. I gave it a two because the first 10 minutes, the whole punk rock family with the cello lover daughter looked pretty interesting; could've been an interesting movie as well, but it was a big torturesome bore, hungry for money.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Seems A Bit Gimmicky
zkonedog26 February 2017
After loving the roles that Chloe Grace Moretz played in "Carrie" & "The Equalizer", I decided to give this one a shot after recently having watched (and enjoyed more than I thought) a similar teen drama in "The Fault In Our Stars". Unfortunately, I felt that this one was kind of based on a gimmick.

For a basic plot summary, "If I Stay" tells the story of Mia (Moretz), a high school girl who plays a beautiful cello. This musical talent gets her noticed by cute guy Adam (Jamie Blackley) and she is awaiting a letter from Juilliard's music program. On a seemingly normal family drive, however, Mia is involved in a car crash putting the entire family in the hospital. As "physical Mia" fights for her life in the hospital, "spirit Mia" watches the action unfold as a kind of ghost entity, trying to discover what is happening to her and her family members. Many moments of the previous year are flashed-back to as Mia discovers what is really important in her life.

The main problem with this film is that it seems to be based on what I consider to be a very gimmicky concept, that being "spirit Mia" watching herself (and her family) in the hospital interspersed with flashbacks. What purpose did that serve in the film besides to give Moretz more time to act? It all could have been done with Mia just laying in her hospital bed. All that would have been missed was a few reaction shots.

Couple that with the fact that the story here didn't strike me as particularly strong to begin with. Maybe if one appreciates cello music more than I do, or is a sucker for sad movies, they will find more significance here, but I never felt that what I was watching made the jump from "contrived" to "real".

The highlights? Moretz is still great in her role (as convoluted as it may be sometimes), while a grandfather character (played by Stacy Keach) practically steals the show with ever scene he is in. In a movie that should be filled with such emotion, it is telling that a guy on the screen in a very limited role has such an impact.

Thus, while I know I shouldn't directly compare this to "Fault In Our Stars", it just so happens that I saw both within about a two-week span. "Fault" made me actually care about what was going on and drew me in. "Stay"...not so much. At times I even got a little bored waiting for something to happen. Like I said, Chloe Grace Moretz is still solid, but it isn't enough to inject life into this vehicle.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
I shouldn't have stayed either
Jordan Link7 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I am livid about this movie! I can't get the time I spent watching it back. The beginning of the movie was whatever. It was full of clichés and eyeroll moments. However, the movie grew up a bit. Chloe's character slowly became less annoying and the movie lost a bit of its pretentiousness. HOWEVER, the end of the movie was absolute garbage. The entire movie makes you invested in the relationship between Adam and Mia, then it puts a gun in your face and pulls the trigger. Spoiler: at the end of the movie, Mia decides to wake up, despite losing her whole family. And for what? For her first love, who acted like a stubborn idiot until she was on her deathbed. Yes, he was only happy about her fulfilling her dreams when she was literally dying. This movie is PATHETIC.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
good adaptation
mattkratz8 December 2016
This was a good adaptation of the book by Gayle Forman. I think the movie captures it well, as does the cast. I like the way the movie flashes back and forth in between the hospital scenes and the story behind the love interests' story. Chloe Grace Moretz is a good choice to play the lead as a gifted cello player who gets an audition for Julliard, and it causes friction between her and her boyfriend, who's the lead singer in a band. Her father was in a band too. Chloe is involved in a horrific car accident and has an out-of-body experience and learns how much everyone cares for her, the fate of everyone else involved, and the hardest decision she had to make. This is a movie about love, sacrifice, and decisions. I loved it.

*** out of ****
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Beautiful story
Mia Marie5 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The movie If I Stay, directed by R.J. Cutler comes across as just another teen romance movie at the first glance, but if you dive deeper into the meaning, you see it centers around family values and questions the choice people have in living or dying. Mia, the story's main protagonist, is faced with the ultimate question after being in a horrific car accident with her family and falling into a coma. She has the choice to fight through the pain and emotional loss that will await her when she wakes up, or to simply give up and let go. The movie focuses on Mia's passion, playing the cello, and just how influential it has been in her life. It brought her family closer together, introduced her to her boyfriend, Adam, and gives her a sense of calm and peacefulness when everything else feels like too much. We watch Mia struggle as her spirit is free to see what is happening in the hospital, as her body is stuck in the coma. Her best friend, grandparents, and Adam all let her know that they understand if she wants to just let go. The conflict in the story keeps the viewer on edge, never sure whether she will chose to fight through it, or join her family.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Chloe is awesome <3
Smoreni Zmaj3 October 2016
OK, this girl has no bad movies.

I watched all of her movies, something over 40 if I remember right, and she is at good in every single one and fantastic in some.

I'm not watching in chronological order, but every single one I saw so far was at least good if not amazing.

And this one may be the best. Story may not be so original, but acting is really good and film can easily make you cry.

Loved it. :)

P.S. In the mean time I saw Hugo and it's even better movie than this one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Life,a teen love story,music and a little a bit shallowness
xristoff9313 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The movie is definitely gets you from the beginning.It makes you wanna see what happens next.We don't have the typical high school romance with the top athlete and the cheerleader,saying love you after a couple of weeks and then breaking up over who ate the last piece of chocolate or something idiotic like that.

We do have a cool kid though.He is a guitar player and part of a band.He is a small star in his school.He notices a quite girl,modest and serious(not slut) who also has a fancy in music,though a different kind than his.He's stuck with her from the beginning and it is obvious that it matters cause that did not happen only due to her looks.The female character is a bit more shallow though and you can pick that up almost from the beginning.I mean she's left speechless because the school's star is talking to her.Made me wonder how would she react to him,if he wasn't someone.

Throughout the entire movie you can enjoy various music tracks,either rock-like or classical music.I liked this film because the characters are so vivid,even Mia's parents.And they happen to be pretty cool.The feeling are genuine.But after the first half of the movie and the accident,which actually shows how things can change dramatically in a blink of an eye,things begin to be a bit more shallow.

The acting was pretty much solid...I had some issue's with Mia.I am not sure she's mature enough as an actor yet to convince that she really feels love and pain.There were some scenes while she is in her "spirit form" that felt quite awkward.Also the whole genuine feeling thing,is reduced to almost a typical high school one sided romance.Mia's makes plans with Adam,he seems mature and sure of his decisions and in no case does he take or try to take advantage of her,and that was sweet and heartwarming.The thing that bothered me is that Mia is portrayed to be a bit wavy in her mind at times,reasonable since she is a teenager,but then not only lies to Adam and takes-without him-a different path than the one they chose together,but also blames things on him.The writing here was bad since we have another unreasonable character with unreasonable demands and at the end,the one who should be angry at this situation ends up apologizing and calling himself an a**h*le,like he did something wrong.Then we have the typical bul*sh*t "You shouldn't be worried about me getting to Juliard,they won't pick me for an audition"...."Oh they picked me for an audition,but you should not worry cause I won't pass anyway" and so on so on....

Last thing that put me off,was the ending.OK,she lost her parents and brother,and that is really awful,but she still has a family,friends and a boy who loves her more than anything.Everyone is there trying to support her in any way they can but she is just too hurt to want to survive this life anymore??Are you kidding me?? You stay alive for you!!For YOUR life!!Bad things will happen but you must continue,not stay down and kill over every time things aren't great.Despite everyone appearing and talking to her and showing to her how many reason she still has for living,she cares not about grandparents,friends and boyfriend,but sure when he reads her the letter from the music school Juliard and she passed,she gets moved and decides to live???.....Right there felt like a silly twilight romance to me....

So while there is solid acting,vivid characters,nice story telling and music,the second half of the movie lacks depth and the writing could be better.I liked it but I am skeptical cause it felt a bit shallow at the end.Nothing like "The perks of being a wallflower"...So it's a 6/10 from me.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
It's different and worth-watching for all people with vision and feelings, nowadays.
Sara10 September 2016
If you are looking for a romantic movie to watch in a lonely night, this is it! The best approach of the movie was decision making so I say it's self raising. It's realistic and touchy because it's the kind of a life that teenagers would like to live so what happens when 'this life' breaks apart? Decisions are made regarding our fate and life goes on. The chemistry between the boy and Mia was everything. If you're looking for a different love story, go for this film. It has nothing with teenagers being very sexually involved or making big dreams come true. It says falling in love with the wrong person is not always wrong, so why not love it? I's a smart creation because everything was matching and nothing awful.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Yes, it's cheesy - but it touches you
Felix B9 August 2016
It's not that I don't agree with many of the reviews, this movie is for sure not an award worthy masterpiece at all. And it get's cheesy to a certain degree, you can even argue if Chloe Grace Moretz was the right choice for the part playing the shy misfit (altough I think she did a terrific job).

But I have to admit, that movie got to me, I just couldn't hold back my tears in many scenes, that said being a married man in my 30s.

I don't know why, but I just felt the pain and sadness in it, especially when seeing the flashbacks that are beautifully build up.

The end is a little abrupt, maybe more than you'd expect and are comfortable with, but it makes sense in itself when you see the whole movie.

So, I guess this movie is not for everyone, but if you let go and feel with the characters it will touch you, and that's the most important part to me.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Not Bad
sparklyguitars24 July 2016
I like the characters and the story. Being a musician myself, it was pretty relatable and fun to watch. I really like Mia & Adam's relationship too - the fact that they're both musicians but still different in many ways is interesting and makes their relationship more complex. I think this film was pretty realistic too (other than the fact that Mia gets in Juliard and Adam becomes a popstar which is a little...far fetched might I say). Mia basically had a normal life, until the day of the car crash. Shows how unexplainable accidents like this happen in real life, and there's nothing we can do to control it. What matters is how we handle those situations - that's what the film is trying to say, I think. The problem I had with this movie is that it felt slow paced, and when it was over I didn't feel particularly amazed. I was just like okay, that's it? Kind of predictable.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
If I Stay Movie Review
Haleema02025 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
If I Stay is a wonderful movie about a 17-year-old girl that gets into a car wreck with her family. The main character is then in a ghost type phase trying to decide if she wants to stay or not.

If I Stay is an American family film. It was produced by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios and New Line Cinema. It was released August 22, 2014. R. J. cutler directed this film. This film was based on the novel If I Stay by Gayle Forman. This film's main character is the young cellist, Mia Hall. When her family decides to go for a car ride on a snowy day they get into a nasty car wreck. Mia Hall is then trapped in this weird ghost-like phase although she isn't dead. She is stuck in her phase trying to decide if she wants to continue living or not.

Some things that made this film really more interesting was the flashbacks the main character had. They showed her life before the accident, which included: her family, friends, her cello, and her boyfriend, Adam. Mia's memories showed everything she still had to live for, even if her family really wasn't part of it anymore. The music also had a really beautiful effect on the whole movie. It matched every scene perfectly and really set the mood. Even when Mia played her cello, her music really made me feel the way she did whenever she played. I also really love the way the plot flowed. Especially with Mia's flashbacks foreshadowing what's going to happen next and her final decision.

The main theme of this movie is: even when all hope is lost you should hold on to what you have left of life. When Mia wasn't really sure if she should stay or go, her happy flashbacks (even the sad flashbacks) and her family/friends guided her towards her final choice. Even though she lost plenty from the wreck, she still had a lot to hold on to and continue living for.

I really enjoyed this movie and loved the message it sent. It was well directed and edited. This movie really made me feel grateful for everything I have and life. It taught me to grasp on to the good things in life and live through the bad. This movie is one of my new favorites because of the good messages it sent out.

I really loved this movie. It deserves a 10/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
It Didn't Leave The Same Emotional State As The Book Did To Me
Eka Herlyanti26 March 2016
It didn't leave the same emotional state as the book did to me, and definitely not as sad at all. While the book clearly noted the novel is about death and what happened to the one who is in Glasgow coma state. But I didn't really feel the same message in the movie. It was mostly about Mia's love story. Maybe I'm just so curious about coma state, so I kinda disappointed with the adaptation

While the book narrates the accident with a very horrifying words, here I guess the director is too scared to make the brutal and horrible accident scene. It was kinda flat to me. The casts are not bad, but not quite satisfying as well. So, it was okay. Chloe can bring Mia's character well.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Take My Man-card
Miles Grimm26 March 2016
If I had to describe this movie in one word, it would be the word "Breathtaking". The movie itself was nothing spectacular compared to any Nicolas Sparks-like movie. There were no fancy effects, no extraordinary performances, and no unbelievable moments of suspense (like mission impossible; tom cruise hanging off a building).

However, the storyline is what made this movie. We meet a young lady who is going through something life changing over the course of the movie. We flip back and forth between the present and the flashbacks of her life leading up to where she is today. Throughout both, you will cry your eyes out (man or woman). I must have cried at least 3 times as this movie pulled on my heartstrings time and again.

You will find yourself in a whole mess of emotions and will require a sort of sugary comfort food or a snuggle buddy with whom you can watch the film. It is difficult to watch in some places, but as you reach the ending you feel this amazing sense of satisfaction that many movies these days just don't give you. I could only applaud for the ending of this film.

The only reason this film doesn't hit a 10 out of 10 for me is because its a full-blown chick flick with a ton of drama.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
I am so disappointed
mistoppi1 March 2016
I learnt about this movie in school in English class that was all about movies. Two girls made their analysis on this film. I only saw the trailer, but it was enough to convince me to see this film if I ever had the chance.

But boy am I disappointed! I expected something way more from this film. Of course it's deep, it has important meaning. Mia is an amazing characters many people will see themselves in. But the thing is, no one can truly, truly feel like they are Mia, if they haven't been in a life or death situation before. So it feels like a waste of character. There could've been another story about Mia, amazing Mia with her talents, who doesn't even know how amazing she is. There are other stories you could put her in so people could truly feel her. But having her in weird ghost fantasy was kind of a waste, especially when this kind of story seems so typical. Has this been done before because I feel like I've seen a similar movie but with less interesting main character?

One of the things I hate about this film is the dialogue. Almost immediately when Adam talked with Mia I had to sigh and roll my eyes. No teenage boy talks like that! That pretentious dialogue is so annoying to listen to. It suits with some romantic sappy novels you read in rainy day, hoping you'll meet your significant other, not in a movie. I don't know if I can excuse it if the dialogue was that bad in the novel. It's like some unrealistic fantasy, and it bothers me. Does someone actually watch a movie like that and then hope they'll meet a guy who talks in poetic pretentiousness? Ugh!

And I really expected this to be the kind of movie you could watch and cry so long you're kind of cleansed, but no. That's the thing I'm most disappointed about. This movie didn't move me at all! I'm mostly blaming the writing for that.

I can't really judge right now, but usually I'm very impressed by Chloe Grace Moretz. She's a talented young actress. She was very convincing as Mia, she was astonishing. She displays emotions well, no matter how "bad" they might look in front of a camera. That's what I love about her acting.

I loved the music in this film, but if it's a movie about music then... Then it's kind of obvious you have to have good music there. There was both classical music and punk rock. It's the same kind of contrast that was between Mia and Adam.

As I said before, this movie is very deep and it has an important meaning. It struggles with several themes that may not be important in general, it's not like this movie has a political message. No, the message is mostly for individuals. And even if the horrid dialogue makes you shiver, If I Stay really makes you think about several things the movie mentions. You don't have to agree with the message, but at least you think about it.

If I Stay was definitely not for me. If you love movies about teenagers that are actually deep, this is for you. If you don't care about writing too much, this movie might be for you. Obviously If I Stay has an audience that loves it, and it's definitely meant for someone. If I stay is deep, the message is amazing and it's probably even emotional movie when it hits the right person. If you are sure you won't like it, don't bother. But if you think there might be a chance you'll love this movie, take that chance.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Tear jerker! Bring on the tissues! (Spoiler!)
dsbrown-1492825 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Before i talk about the movie, i just want to say that the acting was fantastic!So I Just watched this movie for the second time and I like it even more now. The first time I saw it, I was annoyed with the ending. I didn't like the fact that they took us through a roller coaster of emotions and just leave it with Mia opening her eyes at the end. I was hoping to see her wake up and show a big love scene of Adam telling Mia how much he loves her and then show them a few years later together living in New York. Now seeing it again I thought the ending was perfect. I think the first time around, you're distracted because the whole time you're thinking "is she going to live or die"? So you're waiting and waiting for this big climax but you don't really get one. The second time around, you already know the ending so I feel like you appreciate the movie more. It's not your typical cheesy romance movie. I highly recommend watching this.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great film. One of the most emotional ones you could watch.
nkpb160722 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
If I Stay is one of the most beautiful, emotional, and amazing films you could watch. It is about a girl called Mia (played by Chloe Grace Moretz) who suffers from a major car accident that her and her family are in. She goes into a coma, and she has an out-of-body experience. The movie also flashbacks to incidents about her life leading up to the accident and around that about either passions or difficulties (the cello, getting into Juilliard or not, and her boyfriend Adam). It is shown that her mom, dad and brother died from complications from the collision, but Mia was still in a coma, and the doctors, Adam and her best friend Kim, were hoping she would wake up (with one of the doctors assuring her that it was her choice whether she lived or died) towards the end, after the rest of her family sadly passing, her grandfather who had a close bond with and devotion to her, was beside her hospital bed in tears, saying that she needs to fight to stay alive because she's come so far with her life. Soon after, at different times, both Kim and Adam were devastated beside her bed, talking to her, hoping she'd wake up (Kim takes out a photo on her phone that she said she'll always remember her by that photo, and Adam puts headphones on her head to play a specific type of song/music). Soon after the moment with her and Adam, she wakes up from the coma, and the movie ends on Adam's word "Mia?"

Both plots with the flashbacks of Mia's cello talent, her relationship with Adam and hope for a place in Julliard, and then the out-of-body experience she has in the hospital, are done brilliantly and are both extremely emotional in many ways. This movie certainly made me shed a tear. A great movie altogether.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
If i stay
somheli19 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
When i first saw the trailer i thought 'oh my god i have to watch this' it caught my whole attention at first, so i read the review of the book online so i could know more about the movie. But after the movie released it didn't reach my expectation somehow it seemed like shes flashing things back the whole movie. I admit that the romance in the movie did make me smile but the movie itself feels like it lacks of something. To me its a surprising thing that it made me think more about my family and my career. But i still don't get why this whole movie is like this, like it just in Mia flashing things over again and again and most of the part didn't really surprise me because i can predict what is going to happen next. I don't regret watching it even though its not that good. I don't think i would want to watch it over again. Some part i find it boring too.

I would rate it 5.5
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews